History of Pathanamthitta District Police

Pathanamthitta District was formed on 1st November 1982 vide GO (MS) 1026/82/RD dtd. 29/10/82 in the sole interest of Sri. K. K. Nair MLA, Pathanamthitta with his well cherished ambition for hastening process of development and with a view to reducing stress and strain of inhabitants for remedies to their grievances from the district administration which was out of reach for years. . The district consists of Adoor,Kozencherry,Thiruvalla, Ranny and Konny Taluks At the time of formation the district headquarters started functioning in a rented building at Makkamkunnu,Pathanamthitta and from there it was shifted to the new building at Thazhevettipuram, Pathanamthitta.The offices of special units like District Special Branch, District Crime Records Bureau,Narcotic Cell, District Crime Branch Women Cell etc are functioning in this building.